Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I know I said I was going to try and keep it healthy on here, but everyone has to splurge sometimes! Right?!? Plus, my best friend asked me to share my potato salad recipe, so how could I say no! I actually have two potato salads that I make and she wants me to post both, but the other one, I have no recipe for. I just fake it and make it! I’ll have to think that one through before I post the recipe!

This particular recipe in today’s post comes from a Taste of Home cookbook. If you’re not familiar, Taste of Home is an awesome cooking magazine and they also publish many cookbooks, which are available at Amazon.com. I like their publications, because they highlight straightforward, down-home cooking. The ingredients are usually not exotic and very often are staples that I keep on hand. They are trying to include more healthy recipes these days and they highlight various cooking techniques, like barbecuing and using a slow cooker. Their cookbooks are definitely worth checking out and would make great gifts!

So back to the potato salad! This recipe is for Patio Potato Salad. It has a creamy, tangy dressing that I just love!!! Frankly, I’m amazed it makes it from the pot on to the salad, because I’m constantly tasting it! This is one potato salad recipe that is also good served warm or cold. Personally, I like the sauce best when it’s warm. Enjoy!

Patio Potato Salad

1/3 cup sugar

1 tbsp cornstarch

1-1 1/2 tsp salt

1/2 tsp celery seed (I usually leave this out, as I’m not a celery fan)

1/2 cup milk (To lighten recipe, use low-fat or non-fat milk)

1/4 cup vinegar (I use apple cider vinegar)

1 egg, beaten

1/4 cup butter or margarine (a lower calorie choice could also be used here)

1/4 cup chopped onion (I think white works best)

1/4 cup mayonnaise (a lower calorie choice could be used here, I last made it with fat free mayo and everyone loved it!)

7 medium red potatoes, cubed and cooked

3 hard-cooked eggs, chopped

In a saucepan, combine sugar, cornstarch, mustard, salt and celery seed. Stir in the milk, vinegar and egg until smooth. Add butter. Bring just to a boil (not to hot though! Don’t want to scorch it!), cook and stir for 2 minutes or until thickened and bubbly. Cool. Stir in onion and mayonnaise. In a large bowl, combine potatoes, hard-cooked eggs, add dressing and toss gently to coat. Serve warm or cover and refrigerate for at least 1 hour. Yield: 8-10 servings.

