Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , ,


You know what I love about our family friend Tom??? The man hates avocados! I love those people that don’t like avocadoes, because you know what that means??? More guacamole for me!!! Oh man! I can’t get enough of that green stuff! Guacamole and chips, sliced avocado on a sandwich or burger, avocado on a salad, guacamole on whatever type of Mexican food I’m eating at the moment, avocado in or on just about anything!!! And finally, something that is delicious, decadent, and good for me!!! There is a God and He created avocados!!!

OK, let’s take it down a notch! Calm down Kelly!

I wanted to blog about avocados, because I have recently found some exciting new ways to use them. Maybe you’ve heard of some of these, but hopefully you’ll find something new and exciting for yourself!

  1. The Avocado Egg (Pictured above) – From my non-professional photography, you can tell I have made this dish for myself. It is very decadent and delicious! The egg is basically sunny side up, so if you’ re adverse to runny egg yolk you will want to cook yours a little longer or beat the egg before adding it to the avocado. How do you make it? Simple! Halve an avocado and remove the stone. Scoop out about a tablespoon of the flesh to make room for your egg. I have faith that you will put that scooped out avocado to good use! Place your avocado(s) in a baking dish in a supported fashion, so they are stable. Crack your egg into the avocado or into a bowl and pour into the avocado. Add salt and pepper and bake at 450 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Feel free to top with other goodness; cheese, green onions, peppers, etc. Enjoy your “green egg”!
  2. Avocado Tuna Salad – We love tuna salad sandwiches at our house, but I just don’t need the fat that the mayonnaise adds to the mix. It tastes so good though!Well our family has found that mashed avocado is a wonderful substitute! We use one mashed avocado to one drained 12 oz. can of tuna (water packed, of course!) and add all that we usually enjoy in our tuna salad; onion, pickle relish, mustard, jalapenos or whatever you use in your tuna salad. We have found that you don’t get a strong avocado flavor. It just tastes like regular tuna salad. Delicious!
  3. Avocado Egg Salad – This is pretty much the same story as the tuna salad, but you use 1/2 an avocado, mashed with 4 hard boiled eggs and again, add your other usual ingredients. Now the color is a little off, because you’re introducing green, but tell everyone to get over it, because this is delicious!!! Again, you really don’t taste avocado flavor.
  4. Avocado Mashed Potatoes – I have to admit that I have not tried this myself, but I had a friend recommend replacing the butter and/or sour cream in mashed potatoes with mashed avocado. I have no doubt it’s delicious!!!

I hope you find these ideas useful! Do you have creative uses for avocado not discussed here? I’d love to hear your ideas!!!

