Tags

, , , , ,

Not only do I love to cook and eat, but yes, I also love to watch movies about food! I’m obsessed! I know!

I ran across the wonderful movie, Big Night, on Netflix (Yes, it’s still on there!). Netflix probably recommended it for me based on all the other food relatd shows I watch on there (Kitchen Nightmares, No Reservations, etc.).

Big Night stars Stanley Tucci (The Devil Wears Prada, Julie & Julia), Tony Shalhoub (Monk), Minnie Driver (Good Will Huntng) and the beautiful Isabella Rosellini (Cousins, Blue Velvet). There are a few other notable stars in smaller roles as well.

I don’t want to ruin it, but basically the story is about two brothers that are running a failing Italian restaurant and gamble on one special night to save their beloved restaurant. One brother is the head chef and has such passion for his food and the tradition in which it should be enjoyed. He has no patience for we American simpletons that insist on a side of spaghetti with the other pasta dish we already ordered! You can’t help but love these characters and the passion they have for what they do. And let’s just say the food coming out of that kitchen looks fantastic!!!

So put on a big pot of sauce (I guess I better blog my sauce recipe tomorrow!!!) and get ready to sit down with a big plate of pasta, a glass of good wine and enjoy Big Night! I just know you’ll love it! Lots of laughs and passion for good food!

This movie is also available for purchase at Amazon.com.

Mangia bene!!!

