Tags

, , , , , , , ,

  
I didn’t know what I was going to cook, but yesterday morning I looked in the freezer to see what types of meat I had and grabbed a package of boneless, skinless chicken thighs and laid those out to thaw. As dinner time drew near, I started to think about what I should make. I looked through my veggies and discovered I had baby bok choy that had come in Thursday’s organic produce delivery. The bok choy inspired me to go with an Asian inspired meal, so I decided to make Chicken Adobo and rice with the Bok Choy, but I decided to spice things up a bit! Now I am not of Filipino decent, so I don’t know that my Chicken Adobo recipe is authentic at all, but I do know it was good!!! Both recipes make about 4 servings each. Here you go…

Chicken Adobo 

1 pound boneless, skinless Chicken (can be thights or breast meat)

1 tbsp oil

4 cloves garic, peeled and thinly sliced

1/3 cup water

1/3 cup soy sauce

1/3 cup apple cide vinegar

1 tbsp pickling spice, put in a spice infuser or wrap in cheese cloth (I have a great plastic spice infuser that I bought through Pampered Chef or you can find them on Amazon.com)

Heat the oil in a fairly large pan over medium heat. Cook garlic in oil briefly until aromatic and tender, but not browned. Add chicken to the pot and cook until it’s white all over, but not browned. Pour in all of the liquid ingredients and then insert your pickling spice container and ensure it’s submerged. Want that flavor in there! Bring the mixture to a boil and then lower temperature to low and simmer. Cover pot but tilt lid so a bit of steam can escape. Simmer for 1 hour.

Spicy Bok Choy Rice

1 cup long grain white rice (I used jazmati)

2 cups water

2 heads of baby bok choy

2 tsp soy sauce

1 tsp sriracha

1 clove garlic, diced or pressed

1/2 tsp chili sesame oil (or regular sesame oil for less heat)

Cut the tough ends off the bok choy and discard. Cut the leaves from the steams and dice. Cut stems into 1-inch pieces. Combine rice, water, bok choy stems, garlic and soy sauce into pan and cook following the instructions on the rice container. It should take about 20 minutes. Stir in bok leaves, sriracha and sesame oil with a fork fluffing the rice. Enjoy!

