Tags

, , , , , , ,

  
Somehow I got it in my head that non-stick pans were the be all, end all of cookware. I mean why would I want to spend time scrubbing a pan? OK, non-stick pans definitely have their place in the kitchen! I wouldn’t want to cook eggs without them, but there is something about deglazing a stainless steel pan and making a wine reduction sauce that is just to die for! And surprise, surprise! When you deglaze a pan all those sticky meat bits on the bottom come right off! Then you just pop that pan in the dishwasher! Easy peasy!This is not so much an exact recipe. This is usually something I fake and it comes out great, so I’ll list out the steps and I think you’ll find it easy to make. I hope you enjoy!

1. Add a tablespoon or two of olive oil or spray the pan real good with non-stick spray

2. Heat the pan over medium-high heat and place your chosen meat in the pan. I usually use either boneless, skinless chicken (I usually buy thighs, as they’re cheaper) or pork chops (boneless or bone-in is fine). Brown the meat on each side. It can still be red in the middle, because it will cook more as the process goes on.

  
3. Reduce the heat under your pan to medium and remove the meat from the pan, while still pink in the middle and put on an oven safe plate. Place in a 200 degree oven while you make your wine reduction sauce.

4. Here’s where you deglaze your pan! Get on this quickly, so the meat bits stuck to the pan don’t burn. Pour in 1 ½ cup wine (white or red, depending on the flavor sauce you want) and 1 ½ cup chicken broth (I use the fat free, low sodium variety) and stir scraping the yummy bits off the bottom of the pan adding flavor to your sauce. You will get this wonderful HSSSSS sound when the wine hits the hot pan. Notice the sauce is 50/50 on the liquids, so this is an easy recipe to increase or decrease. Then you just adjust the other ingredients accordingly.

5. To the pan with the sauce, stir or whisk in one tablespoon of Dijon mustard and add ½ tsp salt and ¼ tsp pepper.

6. Stir in 2 chopped or pressed garlic cloves and continue to stir.

7. Optional: If you like, you can also add a sliced leek (as shown in my picture) and/or sliced mushrooms (I prefer baby bellas).

8. You want the sauce to reduce by about 1/2, so the flavors will intensify. It should take 30-40 minutes.

9. Remove the meat from the oven and add to the pan with the sauce, cook meat spooning sauce over the meat until meat is cooked all the way through. This might take an additional 15 minutes or so.

10. Serve the meat and sauce over rice or pasta. This goes really nice with a simple risotto. I guess that will be a future blog post!

This is one of our family’s favorite dishes. I hope you and your loved ones enjoy it as well!!!

