Tags

, , , , , ,

  
 Don’t judge me, but sometimes I do take shortcuts with my cooking. As long as something is delicious, I don’t feel every last thing has to be from scratch. Plus, if you’re cooking for a large group of people it can be very helpful to have a few tricks up your sleeve!

Yesterday, we were having our typical family dinner. My older daughter and her husband come over for dinner and sometimes they bring friends with them. It’s a great time! I also wanted to cook dinner for a friend that has medical issues and can’t cook for her family.

I decided to make a huge batch of Swedish meatballs, as my friend had requested it and it’s been a long-time family favorite. I have found the McCormick seasoning packet shown in the photo to be a great resource making delicious Swedish meatballs easy to mix.

I was tripling my batch, so I used 3 pounds of ground turkey and 3 of these seasoning packets.  One part of the packet is seasoning that you mix with the meat. I then formed all my meatballs. I put them in a oven-safe casserole dishthat was sprayed with non-stick spray. With so many meatballs to cook, I decided to bake them instead of pan frying them. This also used a lot less oil. I baked them at 375 for about 15 minutes. Meanwhile I used the other part of the seasoning packet to make the sauce.

I wanted to make sure I had plenty of sauce, so I supplemented the packet recipe with non-fat sour cream,  Worchestershire sauce and a little instant brown gravy mix to keep it thick.

Once the sauce was mixed and thickened, I added the baked meatballs to the sauce and stirred, so they were well covered and let them simmer in the sauce for 5-7 minutes. I served the meatballs and sauce over whole wheat fettucine noodles. It was delicious and my famly devoured every last meatball!!!

So check out some of the various seasoning packets available in your local grocery store. They can make a delicious dinner a little easier to make!

