Tags

, , , , , , ,

  

What should I make for dinner??? The age old question of cooks everywhere! So I had some chicken thawed out. I had this beautiful, fresh basil plant sitting in my kitchen window. I also had some organic Roma tomatoes on hand. I was thinking a Caprese inspired chicken sounds great!

A Caprese salad is usually slices of fresh tomatoes with high quality motzarella and fresh basil. I just decided to top my chicken with this tasty combination. 

This delicious dinner was rounded out with a side of brown rice and green salad topped with radishes, onion and more tomatoes.

Caprese Chicken

Boneless, skinless chicken thighs or breastss

Olive oil spray

Pepper

Garlic salt

Balsamic vinegar

Chopped fresh basil

Sliced tomato

Shredded Fat-free Mozzarella Cheese(Or you can use a higher fat version. I was just trying to keep it low-fat.)

Spray a baking pan with olive oil. Place the chicken in the pan and spray lightly with olive oil. Season the chicken with pepper and garlic salt. Sprinkle basil over the chicken. Place tomatoes on top of chicken and then drizzle balsamic vinegar over tomatoes and chicken. Top the chicken and tomatoes with the motzarella cheese. Bake in a 350 degree oven for 40 minutes or until chicken is cooked to an internal temperature of 165 degrees and the cheese is well melted.

Mangia bene!

