Tags

, , , , , ,

  
There are a few aromas in this world that are just extra wonderful; baking bread, fresh basil, meat smoking on the barbecue. I’m experiencing one of those right now. Earlier, I cut up fresh dill to put into bread and now my hands smell fantastic!

Until recently, I hadn’t cooked much with dill. It seems to be our favorite new herb of the summer! I wrote an earlier blog about a fresh and delicious garden salad with herbed ranch dressing using dill. Since I had dill on hand, I also used it to bake dill bread. My family just raves every time I make this recipe! I’ve made it a few times now and everytime someone asks, “What kind of bread is this? It’s really good!”.

Soooooo I though I would share my recipe with my friends in the foodie world! I hope you will give it a try and I hope you enjoy!!! With this recipe you not only get to enjoy the smell of fresh dill on your hands, but you get the delicious smell of baking bread too!

Fresh Baked Dill Bread

1 cup 2 tbsp (9 oz)- 80 degree water (I put tap water in the microwave for 25 seconds. In the California drought world, we can’t run the water until it warms up, so the microwave is my warm water friend.)

3 cups bread flour

2 tbsp sugar

1 1/2 teaspoon salt (No more!)

1 tbsp finely chopped fresh dill

1 1/2 tbsp dry milk

2 tbsp butter cut into 4 pieces (Margerine works fine too)

1 1/2 tsp Rapid Rise yeast

This recipe is for a bread machine and makes a 1 1/2 pound loaf. Spray bread pan with non-stick spray. Add water to bread pan. Add flour and sugar. Sprinkle salt aroud the edges of the pan. You don’t want the salt and yeast in direct contact. Add dill and dry milk to the pan. Make a slight well in the center of the pan, moving dry ingredients to the edges. Add Yeast to the center of the dry ingredients. Add a piece of butter to each corner of the pan. I use basic or basic rapid bread style settings with a medium color setting. Press start! Depending on the bread style setting my machine takes 3-3:40 hours to make this recipe. 

I like to serve it freshly out of the bread machine. Nothing like warm, freshly baked bread! I find it keeps well for a few days, as we usually have leftovers.

Enjoy!

