Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

 

As you can see by my photo, I’m still getting the hang of this food blogging thing. For example, I need to take pictures of the delicious food BEFORE my family devours it! Or I can keep posting pictures like this one to prove my family really does like my cooking!

Anyway, what’s not adequately shown here are the roasted potatoes and carrots that I made the other night. I was grilling some nice, big sirloin steaks, rubbed with my basic barbecue rub (See earlier blog entry for recipe) and was trying to decide on a good side dish.

Our family loves potatoes; mashed, baked, twice baked, barbecued! Love them all! Since we like them so much, we tend to eat them a lot, so I was trying to think of something new to do with them. I also always serve some sort of vegetable with dinner, even if it’s just a salad. I’ve always tried to stress the importance of balanced eating with my kids. It must have worked pretty well, as both of my girls are not terribly picky eaters.

On this particular night, I had organic carrots on hand again, so I thought why not combine the two! I don’t much care for cooked carrots (I seem to be cooking them a lot lately though!) and my younger daughter isn’t either. I thought this combo might make the carrots more palatable for both of us, and sure enough, it did!!!

Roasted Potatoes and Carrots

5 Russet or 7 Red potatoes, washed and cut into bite-size pieces (I left the skins on)

5 carrots, washed, peeled and sliced

2/3 of a white onion, diced

Salt and Pepper to taste

Olive oil spray

Spray a baking pan with olive oil. Add potatoes, carrots and onion to the pan. Spray ingredients with more olive oil and toss. Season with salt and pepper and toss some more. Roast in a 400 degree oven. Toss mid-way through cooking. Make sure potatoes and carrots are fork-tender before removing from oven.

