Tags

, , , , , , , ,

  
  

So my evil sister posted this recipe on Facebook. She’s not really evil! She’s actually pretty awesome, but she posts these fattening recipes! She is much better about going to the gym than I!

Anyway, this sounded good, so I thought I would give it a try. It was delicious!!! I forgot it was tortellini, so I went with ravioli. I also didn’t have the Italian style tomatoes, so I added fresh garlic and basil. I have a ton of homemade chicken broth in my freezer, so I decided to use that rather than buy vegetable broth. And as I usually do, I try to use reduced fat or fat free products. My grocery store doesn’t have non-fat cream cheese, so I went with the reduced fat.

I guess I complicated the recipe a bit, but it was still super easy and extremely flavorful! My recipe made aout 6 servings. We ate it with a green salad on the side.

Slow Cooker Pasta

3-8oz containers frozen ravioli or tortellini (I used a combo of chicken ravioli and cheese ravioli) 

1/2 salad size bag of baby spinach, chopped

1 -28 oz can crushed tomatoes in puree

1 – 14.5 oz can diced tomatoes, not drained

2 cloves garlic, pressed or diced 

4 large fresh basil leaves diced

3 cups broth, I used homemade chicken broth

8 oz reduced fat cream cheese

Put all ingredients in slow cooker. I made sure there was some of the tomatoes on the bottom as a base before adding the pasta. I did stir during cooking a couple of times. 

Mangia bene!

