Tags

, , , , , , ,

  
Here in California, we’re still enjoying warm weather, but fall and the cooler weather is starting to encroach upon us. I thought I would share one last summer-y, barbecue related recipe.

I haven’t made it in a little while, so I’m past due! One of my favorite additions to barbecued meat is Chimichurri sauce. I always make this from scratch. Actually, I can’t say I’ve ever seen a ready-made version of this sauce in the store. There’s a product idea I just gave away!

The combination of all the fresh ingredients provides an intense, full-bodied flavor that really compliments the meat well. When serving this sauce, I would keep the seasoning of the meat to basic salt and pepper and let the Chimichurri add the bold accompaniment. This sauce is a rich, green color that screams garden freshness! And that smell!!! All those fresh herbs and garlic will make your mouth water!

This sauce supposedly originated in Argentina and is primarily served over beef. If you’re like me though, once I find a sauce I love, I want to put it on EVERYTHING! Go ahead! Put it on your chicken, fish, bread, rice, whatever! I’ll never tell!

So at your next barbecue, impress your friends and family with something other than the usual barbecue sauce!

Chimichurri

1 cup stemmed flat-leaf parsley

1 cup stemmed cilantro

1/2 cup stemmed mint leaves

7 garlic cloves, pressed or chopped

1 tsp salt

1/2 tsp black pepper

1/2 tsp red pepper flakes

1 cup olive oil

1/3 cup white vinegar

1/3 cup water

In a food processor, add first 7 ingredients and pulse until finely chopped. Add oil, vinegar and water and continue to blend until you have a thick sauce. Serve within a few hours.

