Tags

, , , , , , ,

 
Yesterday, my daughter and I were baking cakes to donate to our church for the cake walk at our Harvest Festival. She was using one of those Wilton cake pans with an intricate design. It has been a while since I’ve baked with these, but I had not forgotten that cake loves to stick to the nooks and crannies in these pans. I hit the internet in search of the best way to bake with these pans; non-stick spray or the good ole oil and flour the pan method. I found the perfect solution and it wasn’t either of these! It was homemade pan release!

This stuff worked like a dream and our cakes popped out of their pans perfectly! I can’t take the credit for this recipe. I have to give props to another food blog; Yumarama.com – A Bread Baking Blog. Thank you for sharing this wonderful stuff!!!

Homemade Pan Release

1 part flour

1 part vegetable or canola oil

1 part vegetable shortening

I used 1/4 cup each and we had some left over after baking 2 cakes. Blend all ingredients together with a mixer. Using a pastry brush, apply to your pan before adding batter. You can also apply with your fingers or a paper towel. You can make a bigger batch and store in a sealed container at room temperature for up to 6 months.

