Tags

, , , , , ,

  
It was Halloween night, so I knew cooking dinner would be tricky. I thought I would put a stew-like substance in the slow cooker and then we could help ourselves when we had time to eat. You could also use this as a burrito filing.

This dish is so full of flavor and was very easy to make! The acid of the salsa and the creamy-ness of the cream cheese offset one another wonderfully. The rice helps thicken the mixture up and the beans and corn add some great tasting, yet healthy substance to the dish.

I served this as a stew with sliced olives, jalapeno slices, tortilla chips and hot sauce available as garnishes. Cilantro would be good on this too now that I think about it, but I was out of that.

I hope you enjoy as much as we did!

Creamy Salsa Chicken

3/4 cup instant brown rice

2 cups salsa (I used medium Pace Picante, our house favorite.)

4-6 boneless, skinless chicken thighs or breasts

1 1/2 cups frozen corn

1 – 15 oz can black beans drained and rinsed

1 tsp cumin

8 oz fat free or low fat cream cheese

Add all ingredients to slow cooker and cook on low for about 8 hours, stirring a couple of times. Towards the end, use a couple of forks to shred the chicken. Spoon into bowls or use tortillas to make burritos and enjoy!

