Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

  

A week or so ago, I posted a recipe for Mexican Spiced Chicken with a Tomatillo Salsa. Along with that meal, I had made some Stewed Black Beans and they turned out great, so I wanted to share that recipe with my food blog friends. These were really easy to make and very lowfat. Plus, they are a great vegetarian/vegan dish!

A little over a year ago, my oldest daughter got married and even though she lives locally it was a difficult adjustment for me. I have missed not having my baby girl in the house to talk to and watch over. One of the things I did was to establish a weekly family dinner, so every Sunday evening my daughter and her husband come for dinner. Hey! I love to cook and they love to eat, so everyone is happy! This was something I remember from my childhood. Every Sunday, my mom would have a roast slow cooking in the oven or something simmering in the slow cooker while we were at church and then my older brother and sister, along with their spouses and children, would come over for Sunday dinner. Even my grandma would join us some weeks. It was a great family memory!

While the kids are over on Sunday evenings, we usually have some TV shows that we watch together. I try and get a lot of the cooking done before they arrive, so I can enjoy the visit with them. Loading something into the slow cooker is a great way to do early prep and have something ready to go at dinner time. For this particular dinner, I had a Mexican theme of sorts going, so I thought I would make some beans. I didn’t start with a recipe. I just took a look at the ingredients I had on hand and started throwing stuff in the pot and the beans came out great! I hope you and your family enjoy them as well!

Stewed Black Beans

3 – 15 oz cans black beans, undrained

1/2 – 15 oz can kidney beans (I just had this in my fridge, so threw it in. You could leave it out or add a whole can)

1 – 8 oz can diced green chilies

1/2 red bell pepper, diced

1/2 medium onion, diced

1 cup frozen corn

1/4 cup cilantro, chopped

1 clove garlic, pressed or chopped

Juice of 1/2 lime

1/2 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp chili powder

Salt and pepper to taste

Throw all ingredients in slow cooker pot and cook on low for 6-8 hours.

