Tags

, , , , , , , ,

  

This is more of a post-Thanksgiving tip, but it’s something that I usually take care of on Thanksgiving Day following our dinner.  So you’ve devoured your dinner and stashed your leftovers for all those creative dishes you’re going to make in the coming days! What are you going to do with the turkey carcass? Toss it? Don’t!!! If you do any amount of cooking, you likely use chicken broth. I know I use it quite frequently. That turkey carcass is going to save you some money!

Put that carcass in a large stockpot and cover with water. Cover your pot and put over medium-low heat bringing to a simmer. Once simmering, reduce heat to low and allow to simmer for 2-3 hours. That’s it!!! Easy, right??? Of course, you can jazz it up if you like with salt and pepper, carrots, celery, garlic, etc. I prefer to keep mine very basic, because I freeze it and use it for a variety of dishes. If you know you’re going to make soup with it, go ahead and add the veggies you choose, so their flavors can blend with your stock.

I put my homemade stock into every plastic storage container I can find! Be sure that you do not fill your containers to the top, as liquid expands as it freezes, so you need to leave some room.

This frozen stock can be pulled out and thawed slowly when needed or you can pop it in the microwave and thaw quickly.

I use mine the same way I would use chicken broth in any recipe. Sometimes it does impart a different flavor, especially if you highly seasoned your turkey by smoking or brining. I haven’t had too much of a problem with this though.

The great thing about making your own stock, besides being so easy and a money saver, is now you know EXACTLY what is in it! You control the sodium content and there are no preservatives or other chemicals. I also do this any time I cook a whole chicken and have a carcass afterward. There is a lot of flavor in those bones!!!

Enjoy

