Tags

, , , , ,

  My husband and I decided to take a little getaway to Murphys, CA before I dive into all my Thanksgiving dinner prep. One of our favorite wineries to visit, is Chatom Winery.

As is typical of the Sierra Foothills region, their red wines are very bold and flavor forward and the whites are crisp and clean with less oak flavor than those from the Napa and Sonoma region. We definitely prefer red wines, but Chatom’s Sauvignon Blanc is a Thanksgiving staple! We love this bright, fruity wine with our Thanksgiving dinner. Their Chardonnay is excellent as well!

The winery is undergoing a few changes right now. In the picture above you see my husband and me in the cellar where they are currently doing their tasting. Ownership of the winery recently changed hands and the new owners decided to renovate and expand the tasting room, so the cellar tasting area is temporary. It was great to stand amongst and smell all the wine barrels though! In the following picture you can see the large tanks that are used to age the white wines. Some of the whites also get time in very large oak barrels, so they get a touch of the oak flavor.

  
Anyway, the folks here are friendly, the wines are great and the grounds are beautiful! If you’re in the Murphys area, I definitely recommend you stop by and give the wines a taste!

  

