Tags

, , , , ,

   
For some reason, until recently Ihad never  really caramelized onions or scallions, but that all changed this Thanksgiving. I added caramelized scallions to my mashed potatoes. HEAVEN!!! As I smelled them cooking, I knew this was going to be something special and I was so right! Now I’m addicted and I’ve made them several times. Most recently, I added caramelized onions to my marinara sauce that I make (See post dated August 11, 2015 for recipe). Again, it was devine! These beauties are so versatile too! You can add them on top of grilled meats or pizza. You can stir them into sauces and dips or go for the ultimate use and make French Onion Soup. I’m going to have to try this one myself! I’ll let you know how it turns out!
So how do you go about making these fragrant, delicious gems…

  1. Slice your onions or scallions – You don’t want them too thin or they’ll burn easily. You don’t want them too thick either or they won’t cook through nicely. You want to slice them about 1/8 inch thick. Don’t chop or dice.
  2. Use a heavy large bottomed pan – You want  your onions to have as much contact with the pan as possible. I have used my large cast iron skillet and my dutch oven on the stove top.
  3. For best flavor, use a combination of oil and butter to cook them in. I like to use about 2 tbsp of olive oil and 1 tbsp butter.
  4. Cook them low and slow – Put your pan with oil and butter over medium-low or low heat. Heat your oil and melt the butter, then add your onions spreading them well so as many as possible have contact with the pan. Stir about every  10-15 minutes, but you’re going to cook them for about 45 minutes. You don’t want to stir them too much, because you want to let them brown, but you don’t want them to burn. Add more oil or butter if they are sticking too much. Don’t be tempted to crank up the heat to rush the process. That will just get you burned, bitter onions. Yuck!
  5. Don’t forget to season them! Remember, salt and pepper are to food what breath is to life!
  6. Enjoy the aroma and the buttery rich flavor!
