Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

  
My family loves fresh baked bread, so my bread maker gets a real workout! The other night I loaded the ingredients for my egg bread recipe into my bread maker and low and behold, she wouldn’t work. The old gal died a quiet death! Ever determined to have my fresh baked bread, I came up with an alternate plan that worked brilliantly and produced bread better than any that had come out my bread maker!

On my kitchen counter, right next to my bread maker stands my Kitchen Aid Mixer and guess what?!? It has a dough hook! I figured it was time to give that dough hook a try and see how it did kneading bread dough. You know what? It works great!!! I just poured all the ingredients out of my bread maker pan and into the Kitchen Aid mixing bowl and turned it on and low and behold in a couple of minutes I had a beautiful ball of bread dough!

So here is my recipe and the details of my process. I made these rolls two nights in a row and the family just loves them!!! These rolls came out lighter and fluffier than any bread I ever got out of my bread maker.

Total time needed: About 2.5 hours

Egg Bread

1/4 cup milk (I used fat free)

1/3 cup buttermilk (or you can use more regular milk)

2 large eggs

3 cups bread flour

1 1/4 tsp salt

2 1/2 tbsp sugar

1 tbsp butter, cut into 4 pieces

1 1/2 tsp fast rise yeast or 2 tsp active dry yeast

1 1/2 tbsp butter, melted

Add liquid ingredients to Kitchen Aid mixing bowl first, then add flour. Sprinkle salt around outer edge of mixing bowl (you don’t want it in direct contact with your yeast). Add sugar. Create a well in the center of bowl, by pushing dry ingredients out toward the edges. Place 4 pieces of butter spaced out around the edges of the bowl. Add yeast to center of bowl in the well you created. Lower your dough hook into the bowl and be sure to lock your mixer in place. Turn on lowest setting for about 30 seconds until ingredients are blended and then turn up to speed 2 and let mix for 2 minutes.

Turn off your mixer and let dough stand for 15 minutes. Then turn mixer on speed 2 again for another 2 minutes. While the dough is mixing, fill a pan with water and put on stove to boil. I used a large non-stick frying pan. You want a flatter pan.When the dough is done mixing, put the mixing bowl on the top shelf of your oven (your oven is OFF). Place the pan of boiling water on the lower oven shelf, under the mixing bowl of dough and close the oven. Allow dough to rise in the oven for 1 hour. Don’t peek in the oven!!! You’ll let the little bit of warmth out.

Remove dough and pan of water from oven. Put your pan of water back on the stove and bring to a boil again. While water is heating, spray muffin tins with non-stick spray. I like to use the extra large muffin pan for larger rolls, but you can also use a regular size pan or just place your rolls on a flat baking pan. Pull off balls of dough and shape balls of dough that are smaller than your muffin pan holes. This dough is not done rising so you want to leave it some room to spread out. Once all your rolls are shaped, place your pans back in the cold oven on the top shelf and put your pan of boiling water back on the lower shelf. Close the oven and let dough rise for another hour. Again, no peeking!!! You can let it rise longer at any step if you wish. 

Remove dough and pan of water from oven and preheat oven to 375 degrees. While oven is heating, melt your 1 1/2 tbsp of butter. When melted, brush the top of all your rolls with the butter. Bake for 10 minutes or until golden brown. Remove rolls from pan immediately after baking, so they do not stick.

Oh the smell of fresh baked bread!!!

