Tags

, , , , , ,

  
Kale is fairly new on the scene for me and I’m still experimenting with using it in a variety of dishes. I’ve mainly  had it in salads and stir frys, but last night I branched out and made Creamed Kale with Mushrooms. I received my organic produce delivery and it contained a beautiful bunch of kale and a pound of crimini mushrooms. I wanted a warm, but healthy vegetable dish and this is the dish that resulted from that beautiful produce!

I know you probably hear “creamed” and think “Oh no! This will be fattening!” But I used one of my favorite secret ingredients, fat free half and half. I always have it on hand, because I use it in my morning coffee. I have found it is a great substitute in recipes calling for heavy cream or heavy whipping cream. I’ve used it in my quiche recipe and my Lemon Cream Chicken. You can find both of these recipes in my earlier blog posts.

Creamed Kale and Mushrooms

2 tbsp olive oil

1 bunch kale, stemmed and chopped

1 shallot, diced or 1/2 medium red onion, diced

2 tbsp lemon zest

3/4 cup fat free creamer

4 garlic cloves, pressed or diced

8 crimini or baby bella mushrooms, finely sliced

1/4 cup parmesan cheese, grated

Salt and pepper to taste

Warm olive oil in a saute pan over medium heat. Add kale and shallot and stir until kale is wilted about 5 minutes. Add remaining ingredients and stir. Reduce heat to low and simmer until sauce thickens, about 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

