As I’ve mentioned before, I take pride in getting picky eaters to eat their vegetables. To be honest, sometimes I’m tricking myself into eating my veggies! My younger daughter and I both don’t care much for cooked carrots, but other family members enjoy them, so I’m always trying ways to incorporate them in a way that keeps every one happy. This savory, hearty side dish did the trick!

Everyone in our family LOVES potatoes, so the combination of carrots with russet and sweet potatoes was a big hit! In most of my meals I include a meat, a veggie and a starch. The great thing about this dish is it covers both the veggie and the starch category. It’s so hearty that this one side dish is plenty filling, but with the sweet potatoes and carrots it is really good for you too!

Roasted Potatoes, Sweet Potatoes, and Carrots

2 russet potatoes, washed and scrubbed

2 sweet potatoes, washed and scrubbed

2 carrots, washed and scrubbed

1/2 red onion, chopped

1 tbsp garlic olive oil (or use regular oliveo oil and add a diced or pressed garlic clove)

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Salt and Pepper to taste

Preheat oven to I purposely left the skin on all the veggies to retain all the vitamins, but you can peel if you prefer. Mix all ingredients in a bowl and then spread on a baking sheet in a single layer.

