Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

  
I don’t know why, but with all the soups I make I had not made lentil soup until just recently. I’ve used regular lentils and last night I made a red lentil soup that was just fantastic! I’m a convert! Lentil soup it is! This red lentil soup had a curry flair to it and was a little bit spicy, which I love!

Lentils are more than just a tasty soup ingredient. They are a very healthy addition to your meal. All types of lentils have similar nutritional values. They are virtually fat free and an excellent source of protein, iron, fiber and vitamin B.

This particular soup was very low in fat and calories. It could easily be made vegan by substituting vegetable broth for the chicken broth that I used.

I can’t take credit for creating this recipe. There was no author, but it came out of the Something Extra magazine that Raleys supermarket puts out.

Red Lentil Soup

2 tbsp olive oil

4 garlic cloves, diced or pressed

1 large onion, finely diced

3 carrots,  peeled and finely diced

1 – 2 inch piece of ginger, peeled and finely diced

1 jalapeno pepper, seeded and diced

Zest and juice from one lemon

2 tbsp toasted cumin seeds (I put mine in a dry frying pan and sautéed over medium high heat for a couple of minutes until fragrant)

1/2 tsp ground cardamom

1 tbsp ground cumin

5 cups vegetable or chicken broth (I used my home made turkey broth)

2 cups red lentils (I found these in the bulk section of my grocery store)

2 tbsp tomato paste

Salt and pepper to taste

  1. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Add onions and garlic, cook for 5 minutes or until onions are translucent.
  2. Add all ingredients, except salt and pepper, to slow cooker and stir. Cook on low for 6-8 hours. Add salt and pepper to taste at the end of cooking time. 

As shown in the picture, I served mine with sliced avocado. The avocado cut the spice nicely. Cilantro would also be good.

Enjoy!

