Tags

, , , , , , ,

  My wonderful sister and brother-in-law bought us a SodaStream for Christmas. I had seen these around, but never thought of buying one.We just aren’t big soda drinkers at our house. Who knew we would use this gadget so much?!? We have really been enjoying it!

I haven’t even had a chance to go to Bed, Bath and Beyond, where they carry all the soda flavorings for the machine. I did, however, find some great stuff at my local grocery store. I had originally thought I could just mix some of my Crystal Light into the carbonated water you make with the SodaStream. I was checking out the section of the grocery store where they have the Crystal Light and I found these liquid “water enhancers” that I had never used before. I bought raspberry lemonade, Arnold Palmer, Grape Crush, and Orange Crush flavors. The are all sugar free, so you’re not drinking empty calories. Let me tell you,  those Crush flavors mixed with the carbonated water from the SodaStream taste just like a regular soda. Yummm!

I haven’t tried it yet and I guess you’re only supposed to use water with the machine, but there are numerous resources online discussing the use of other beverages with the SodaStream. I recently watched an Australian Video where they carbonated a light red wine. I guess sparkling wines are really popular in Australia. I might have to try this just for the heck of it.

I have a couple of recipes that I have blogged that use club soda. Now I’m thinking I can just substitute my homemade carbonated water. I like to make a wonderful Non-Alcoholic Sangria when we have large gatherings. Everyone loves this stuff! During the summer, I also like to make White Wine Spritzers.

And no, I’m not sponsored by SodaStream in any way, so this is just my own little opinion with no bias!

