Tags

, , , , ,

I’ll admit it! I just discovered the wonders of parchment paper! Has this food blogger been living in a cave you ask? I don’t know, but in case there are other cave dwellers out there, I thought I would write this post. I am here to tell you that parchment paper rocks and will make your life easier!!!

I never ran across a recipe that mentioned parchment paper. My mom never used it or had it in the house when I was growing up, so I was in an ignorant state. I kept seeing people use it on cooking shows, so I figure maybe this stuff won’t burst into flames in my oven. Low and behold, it didn’t catch on fire!

So how do you use this stuff? Basically, you use it to line pans during baking, so things don’t stick and/or clean up is significantly reduced.

My daughter was baking florentine cookies for her Italian class. Something went wrong and when she baked them it turned into more of a thin brittle. Thank goodness, we put parchment paper down on the cookie sheet first! That brittle would have been a bear to scrape off the cookie sheet, but it lifted right off with the parchment paper. It still tasted great, by the way!

A couple of weeks ago, I made buffalo wings for the Super Bowl. Luckily, I had the presence of mind to line my stoneware baking pan with parchment paper before putting the wings on the pan. These made a wonderful, juicy mess when baking, but my handy dandy parchment paper caught all the mess and all I had to do was throw out the paper and my pan was still sparkling clean. Look at me saving wash water in drought-ridden California!!!

So give yourself a break! Buy some of this stuff and make your baking life a breeze! Cave dwellers unite!!!

