Tags

, , , , , , ,

 Last night we fired up the barbecue for the first time in a long time. The minute those briquettes start burning, oh the wonderful smell!!! I had some beautiful top sirloin steaks and I also had some baby bella mushrooms on hand, so I’m thinking steaks topped with sautéed mushrooms. With a side of Roasted Ranch Veggies, we had a great meal that night!

For Christmas, my niece and fellow foodie, bought me a few Sur La Table seasoning mixes. One of these was a Dijon Pepper Vinaigrette mushroom seasoning mix. It was intended for the large, whole portabellas, so I deviated from the recipe on the package. I sautéed my sliced baby bella mushrooms in a little olive oil then added about a tablespoon and half of the seasoning mix and a ¼ cup of white wine. Yummm! These were the perfect topping to our steaks, that and a little bit of crumbled goat cheese that I had left over from a previous meal.

Since the mushrooms were pretty flavorful, I wanted to keep the seasoning on the steaks a little on the lighter side. My usual barbecue rub is pretty bold, so I bypassed that and seasoned them with a little Garlic Pappy’s. Pappy’s seasonings are great to keep on hand! I love their flavors!

I had some cauliflower and broccoli that needed to be cooked, so I decided to roast that up. And since I was in seasoning packet mode, I thought I’d use a little ranch dressing mix to jazz up my veggies. They turned out great!

Roasted Ranch Veggies

1 head cauliflower

1 head broccoli

½ packet dry ranch dressing mix

½ cup fat free sour cream

Preheat oven to 400 degrees. Spray a baking sheet with non-stick spray. Cut veggies into bite size pieces. Spray veggies with non-stick spray and toss to lightly coat, spraying more if needed. Bake for 10 minutes, stir, bake an additional 10 minutes. In an oven safe larger bowl or pan, mix ranch dressing mix and sour cream. Add roasted veggies and toss to coat, return to oven for about 5 minutes or until warmed up. The dressing will cool it down a bit and I wanted to warm it back up.

Serve and enjoy!

