Tags

, , , , , , ,

 I got a great response to my earlier post on making pizza crust dough in the bread maker. In talking to one of my food blog friends, the topic of pretzels came up. I shared that I also have a recipe for making pretzel dough in the bread maker. Those bread makers are a work horse! If you don’t have one, I would seriously think about getting one!

I was a little hesitant about investing in a bread maker. I heard from so many people that have them and never use them. So I went on a mission to get one on the cheap or even better, free! I put word out on Facebook to see if anyone had a bread maker they wanted to unload. Low and behold, one of my friends had one that she never used and was glad to give it up. Don’t worry! I have shared many a loaf of fresh baked bread with her! I purposely leave my machine out on the counter as a reminder to use it and I would say I do use it once or twice a week.

The great thing about these machines is they do more than just bake a wide variety of breads. You can use the dough setting to make dinner rolls, pizza dough and pretzels. There might be other uses too that I have yet to uncover. I have posted several bread recipes over the last few months. You can find them by searching my blog site.

So in that spirit, here is my recipe for Soft Baked Pretzels. These pretzels are lot of fun to make with the family. Kids get a kick out of shaping their own pretzels. They can get creative as the shape really doesn’t matter much and the taste remains the same.

I do have to give one warning though! I thought I would use this recipe and try and make my own pretzel rolls. We love sandwiches and burgers served on pretzel rolls! This venture did not turnout well! They did not bake well and were very doughy. I think there must be a better recipe for this, but I’m still working on that! I will figure it out though and share it when I do.

Soft Baked Pretzels

 1 cup, 2 tbsp 80 degree water (I microwave it for about 30 seconds)

3 cups bread flour

3 tbsp brown sugar

1 ½ tsp fast rising yeast

2 egg whites

Coarse salt

Load first four ingredients in bread maker in the order listed. Set bread maker to dough setting and turn on. You DO NOT want your bread maker to bake the dough.

When dough cycle of bread maker has completed, preheat oven to 425 degrees. Place dough on a floured surface and knead for 1 minute. Roll dough out into a rectangle about ½ inch thick. Divide dough into 12-15 equal size pieces. Roll each piece into a ball and place on a greased baking sheet, cover and let rest for 20 minutes. Roll each ball into a 12 inch long rope. Shape into a pretzel shape on a greased baking pan. Bring a large pot of water to boil. Boil each pretzel for 10-15 seconds using large slotted spoon or spatula to remove from water and drain. Place pretzels on greased baking sheet, brush with egg white and sprinkle on coarse salt. Bake for 10 minutes.

Enjoy!

