Tags

, , , , ,

  I have never liked beets! They are one of those foods I keep trying, because everyone else seems to like them. Beet salads have been popular. Tried one and didn’t like it. But I have seen the light!!! I saw a cooking show (Don’t remember which one. Yes, I watch too many!) where the chef cooked fresh beets in a blood orange and red wine sauce. This really appealed to me. I took a peak on the Internet to see if I could find the actual recipe, which I could not, but I found another recipe that also involved raspberry vinegar and a light bulb went off! I just happened to have all these ingredients and guess who likes beets now?!?

My husband and older daughter love the typical pickled beets that people put on salads. I can’t stand those! I got some fresh beets in a recent organic produce delivery and right about that time I saw this cooking show with a movie theme. One of the chefs had the horror movie theme and decided to make a bloody red beet dish. This is what inspired my recipe.

With this dish you still get the beet flavor, but with an incredibly tasty sauce. The dish was served warm, but the beets still had a good texture to them. They weren’t too mushy and not too crunchy. Just right!

Fresh Beets with Blood Orange, Raspberry and Wine Sauce

2 blood oranges, juiced

1 tbsp raspberry vinegar (Thanks to my friend Rachel for the home made raspberry vinegar!!!)

1/3 cup red wine

1/2 tsp salt

1/4 tsp pepper

1/4 tsp thyme

3 large beets, peeled and cut into a large dice

1/4 cup water

2 tbsp raspberry pecan vinaigrette 

Whisk together first 6 ingredients in a skillet and bring to a simmer. While this is simmering, peel and cut up beets, and then add to the skillet. Cover and simmer on medium low for 30-40 minutes until tender. I had to cook mine little longer than expected and the liquid started drying up, so I added the water and vinaigrette. I didn’t want to just add more vinegar and have that over power them. Basically, keep them moist and simmer until tender, but not mushy!

There were other people at dinner that were on the fence about beets that loved this dish. If in doubt, give it a try!!! I served them warm, but I think these would also be good chilled and served with a green salad.

