Tags

, , , , , , , , , , ,

  
I made a green salad this weekend that was so delicious, I have to share! It’s nothing complicated, but it was so fresh and flavorful that I thought others should enjoy it as well!
Our family had a friend visiting this weekend. She is a young college student and is trying to improve her cooking skills. Every time she comes for a visit, I get her in the kitchen and try and teach her a few of my tricks. This time we decided to make homemade marinara and then use that to make lasagna (look for a blog entry soon on these two things). Since lasagna can be time consuming, we thought we would keep the rest of our dinner pretty easy and just serve it with a salad and some fresh baked bread (the bread machine makes this part a breeze!).
I don’t cook with dill very often, but it really was the star of the night!!! This was an ingredient in the salad dressing, as well as the bread. Maybe I’ll include the bread recipe in another post, but I basically added dill and fresh garlic to a basic white bread recipe. It was delicious without being overpowering.

So what’s in that salad you ask???

Dressing

½ Bottle Light Ranch Dressing

¼ cup Finely Chopped Fresh Dill

½ cup Finely Chopped Fresh Flat Leaf Parsley

2 tbsp. Finely Chopped Fresh Basil

 

Salad

4 cups Baby Spinach/Baby Arugala Mix

3 diced Roma Tomatoes

1 diced Cucumber

2 oz Tri-color Tortilla Strip Salad topping

I made the salad dressing a few hours ahead and put the covered container into the fridge. This makes dinner time work easier and gives all the flavors some time to mingle. When ready to eat, toss all salad ingredients into a serving bowl and then spoon in some dressing. I think I used a little less than half of the dressing I made. I like a good amount of dressing, but you don’t want to drown your salad. Plus, you’ll have more for another salad later or you can use it as a spread on sandwiches or burgers.

Happy summer!!!