Tags

, , , , , , , ,

  
Man! The sauce really makes this dish! The chipotle peppers add the right amount of burn and the creaminess counteracts this, so it’s not over the top. It has this bold, yet soothing flavor that could be great served in a number of ways! Last night I browned some chicken and served it over that. I had plenty of sauce left over, so today I used it as a dipping sauce for the avocado egg rolls that I made. DELISH!!!

I love cream sauces! They are so decadent, but they can also be fattening, so this is where you have to think through your ingredients. For this recipe, I used one of my favorite ingredients, fat free sour cream. Fat Free Greek yogurt might work well too. Fat Free Sour Cream just never lets me down! I get the thick, tart, creaminess without a load of fat and calories. And hey! We girls need our calcium! Right!?!

I served my chicken over some easy salsa rice (instant brown rice, Pace Picante, water and frozen corn). I also made some baked avocado rolls with salsa verde for dipping. Overall, this was a great meal! The chicken with the creamy chipotle sauce was definitely the star though!

Creamy Chipotle Chicken
4 boneless, skinless chicken thighs or breasts

1 tbsp coconut oil

Salt and pepper

1 cup fat free sour cream

1 cup 1% milk

2 chipotle peppers in adobo sauce

1/4 cup fat free cream cheese

In a skillet, over medium heat Coke coconut oil until melted and the add chicken. Salt and pepper chicken on each side as it cooks. While this is cooking, put your sour cream, milk, peppers and cream cheese in a sauce pot and blend with your immersion blender until smooth (or put in food processor to blend and then pour in sauce pot). Warm over medium heat. When your chicken is a nice golden brown on each side, pour the chipotle sauce over the chicken and let simmer for 10 minutes or until chicken is cooked through. There will be plenty of sauce, so serve over rice or noodles.

Enjoy the creamy, spicy goodness!!!